My Writing Mantra and why it is so important to me. #writing #author #mantra #DarylDevore

There are fabulous books that no one buys. There are – let’s be blunt – pretty shitty books that become best sellers. Once I finally realized that – writing became easier. I write for myself and somewhat for my critique partners and beta.

If I like the story – the characters – the direction it is going – then I am happy. It is impossible to please everyone. It’s hard enough just to please 1 person.

Now before we end up off topic in a debate as to what a mantra is – there are 2 definitions. #1 is probably the one you are thinking of.

My use of the word – A commonly repeated word or phrase, especially in advocacy or for motivation.

The above is a bit longer than a phrase – but it is used in advocacy for my works and in motivation for my writing – therefore – it is my mantra.

Yes – I got caught up on a debate on the use of mantra and I am just trying to stave it off.

Happy Writing everyone.

Leave a comment